_____________________________ ST. NORBERT CHURCH           RATES _______________________


Montebello Unified School District’s Measure GS Improvement Bond Overwhelmingly Approved



By Brian Hews

Voters yesterday overwhelmingly approved Montebello Unified School District’s $300 million measure GS with the measure passing by the largest margin in the 2016 primary.

13,652 voters approved the measure with 4,059 voting no.

MUSD Superintendent Susanna-Contreras-Smith

MUSD Superintendent Susanna-Contreras-Smith

“The Montebello Unified School District is extremely thankful to the voters for passing Measure GS with over 77% in support of the $300 million school bond. This victory is a win for the students, parents, and community for years to come,” said MUSD Superintendent Susanna Contreras Smith.

Next steps in the process include election results being certified by the County and presented to the MUSD.

The Board of Education in partnership with the Superintendent and staff will work together with the community to develop a project prioritization list for better classrooms and improved school facilities.

The likely list of projects will include updated technology for all schools; new construction and repairs on existing schools – leaky roofs, window repairs, HVAC repairs and updates; renewable and cost saving energy projects; and working to secure additional matching funds from the State as a result of passing the school bond construction and facilities improvement program.

MUSD Board President Ben Cardenas

MUSD Board President Ben Cardenas

“This margin of victory is the largest for any school bond in Los Angeles County for the June 2016 primary. This overwhelming support for Measure GS is a reflection of the school board and Superintendent’s level of trust and communication between the community and voters. The voters and community are saying we trust and support the work the district is doing and we are willing to help raise the $300 million for the future success of our students,” said Ben Cardenas, Montebello Unified School Board President.