Cerritos News _______________________________________ RATES _______________________________________ ST. NORBERT OC

Socialize

7.3 Earthquake causes ‘small’ Tsunami in Japan

Tokyo  — A 7.3 earthquake has hit off the northeast coast of Japan on Friday evening, rattling buildings in Tokyo and setting off a small tsunami.

CNN is reporting that “some roads were closed and rail services suspended in the northeastern prefecture of Miyagi, where a one-meter (3-foot) tsunami rolled ashore. It was followed by four other waves ranging from eight to 16 inches. Only minor injuries were reported immediately, including five in Miyagi and five on the outskirts of Tokyo.”

The 7.3-magnitude quake on Friday was located 462 kilometers (287 miles) east-northeast of Tokyo at a depth of 36 kilometers (22 miles) — the U.S. Geological Survey said.

Here are the official details of the earthquake:

Event Time

  1. 2012-12-07 08:18:24 UTC
  2. 2012-12-07 18:18:24 UTC+10:00 at epicenter
  3. 2012-12-07 00:18:24 UTC-08:00 system time

Location

37.889°N 144.090°E depth=36.1km (22.4mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 245km (152mi) SE of Kamaishi, Japan
  2. 245km (152mi) ESE of Ofunato, Japan
  3. 251km (156mi) ESE of Ishinomaki, Japan
  4. 251km (156mi) SE of Otsuchi, Japan
  5. 462km (287mi) ENE of Tokyo, Japan
Enhanced by Zemanta

Comments

comments

Powered by Facebook Comments